The fascination of old postcards?

Well, it’s partly the odd snapshots it gives you of other people’s lives – but also the ability of see a great many views of small towns like Camberley before the era of everyone carrying a camera with them at all times.

Here is a small selection of views along the stretch of London Road Yorktown that I am posting about this week.  They date from 1904 to about 1950.

Needless to say, I don’t have quite the right card for every place I want to talk about, so tomorrow I will be returning to photos I have taken myself.

Leave a Reply

