And finally – a recent acquisition on the Burrow Hill story…

I found this postcard recently and hoped that it might add to what I had been able to say before about the Burrow Hill Training Colony, but, unfortunately, it shows the same view as the one I had already.  I am just hoping that someone might recognise the signature – P Hopkins(?) or the address to which it was sent.  I imagine that, in this era, it was still Army personnel with TB who were living in the Colony?

Although the card is a plain one, I should imagine that Master J Brookman was still very pleased to receive it for his birthday in July 1924.  As usual, it feels a little strange to be reading such a personal message…

By the way, I imagine that the house visible just above the huts must be Alphington, with Tomlinscote just to the right of that?  Not much else in sight, Frimley is still a rural area in the 1920s.

 

Leave a Reply

